South Pacific Regional Environment Program (SPREP)


The South Pacific Regional Environment Program (SPREP) is the main intergovernmental organization tasked with facilitating regional cooperation, helping the protection and the improvement of the environment, and entrenching sustainable development to benefit current and future generations.

Its priorities are biodiversity and ecosystem management, waste management and pollution control, as well as environment monitoring and governance.

The SPREP was created by member governments following the signing of the SPREP Treaty in 1993, which establishes the intergovernmental organization of the same name. The treaty was implemented in 1995.

The SPREP whose headquarters are located in Apia, Samoa, works in close collaboration with its 26 member countries and territories, as well as with partners, donors and local communities.

Among the 26 members, 21 are Pacific Countries and Territories and 5 are metropolitan countries. Three of the Pacific islands are French territories (New Caledonia, French Polynesia, Wallis-and-Futuna) while France is one of SPREP’s five metropolitan members.  


Liens utiles