Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)

About the FAO:


The FAO is an intergovernmental organisation which has 194 Member Nations, two associate members and one member organisation, the European Union.

Achieving food security for all is at the core of FAO’s efforts, i.e. ensuring that all human beings have regular access to good quality food in order to lead a healthy, active life.

Its three main objectives are the following:

- Help eliminate hunger, food insecurity and malnutrition

- Reduce poverty and encourage social and economic progress for all;

-Manage and use natural resources sustainably, including land, water, air, climate and genetic resources, for the benefit of present and future generations.


Areas of work:


  • Putting information within reach and supporting the transition to sustainable agriculture
  • Strengthening political will and sharing policy expertise
  • Strengthening public-private collaboration to improve smallholder agriculture
  • Bringing knowledge to the field
  • Assisting countries to prevent and mitigate risks


In New Caledonia:


New Caledonia contributed several times to the FAO work as part of its studies on world forest resources:



For more information, visit: