The Pacific Agreement for Closer Economic Relations (PACER Plus)

The Pacific Agreement for Closer Economic Relations is a global free trade agreement covering goods, services, investments and labor mobility.

It aims to gradually intensify trade and investment in the entire Pacific region. The first version of the Agreement was signed in 2001 and entered into force in 2002. Australia and New Zealand were excluded from PACER as they are from PICTA. The Agreement stipulates that the parties must commit to negotiations regarding a free trade agreement, to be finalized no later than 2011. In August 2008, Simon Crean, then Australia’s Minister for Trade started promoting the idea of a « PACER PLUS » Agreement to replace the free trade agreement previously envisioned.  

Negotiations regarding PACER PLUS started in 2009 and ended in Brisbane on 20 April 2017.  

The Agreement was signed in Nuku'alofa, Tonga, on 14 June 2017 by Australia, New Zealand and 8 Pacific Island Countries: the Cool Islands, Kiribati, Nauru, Niue, Samoa, the Salomon Islands, Tonga and Tuvalu.  

Liens utiles